Recognition Awards & Accolades

Washington DECA recognizes its members through a variety of recognition programs for distinguished achievement as academically prepared, community oriented, professionally responsible, experienced leaders.

Recognition Awards & Accolades

Washington DECA recognizes its members through a variety of recognition programs for distinguished achievement as academically prepared, community oriented, professionally responsible, experienced leaders.


Each year, Washington DECA inducts an advisor, board member, or business supporter into the Hall of Fame. These inductees have made a lasting impact on the organization by giving years of service as well as volunteer and financial support. It is one of the highest honors to be part of this elite group of Washington DECA supporters. Nominate our next Hall of Fame Award recipient!


Rick Davis is a retired educator, advisor, coach, area leader, board member and mentor from Kelso High School. During his years in the classroom, Rick prepared students for not only school but for life. He provided students with real-life experiences through DECA, developing skills that enabled them to compete for top jobs in local companies and/or attend the university of their choice. Rick is an outstanding educator and advisor, he developed 4 Washington State DECA presidents, 11 area presidents, and 1 DECA Inc. executive president. Rick served on the Washington DECA Board of Directors, including multiple years as board president. He also served as an area leader, providing leadership and a voice to DECA advisors in Southwest Washington. Rick developed the Northwest Curriculum Academy, which provided mentorship and successful teaching strategies to business and marketing educators from Washington State and across the nation.


  • 2018 Dave Eby and Kandice Herndon
  • 2017 Rod Brooks
  • 2016 Kurt Imerman
  • 2015 Dr. Gary Cohn and Diane Heath
  • 2014 Maggie Wall
  • 2013 Ron Cooper
  • 2012 Sherry Busby
  • 2011 George Way
  • 2010 Yette Rouse
  • 2009 Jim Pankiewicz
  • 2008 Jim Burton
  • 2007 Ed Price and Kim Villeneuve
  • 2006 Kristin Crowe
  • 2005 Don Bailey and Jim Greiger
  • 2004 Pat Knowles; Judy West; Jerry Gribble; and Margaret Rosbach
  • 2002 Patsy Ethridge-Neal
  • 2000 Bill Crossman
  • 1999 Ginger Anderson; Jerry Bender; Dennis Caplen; Bobbie Peterson; Fred Rexus; and Bill D. Syhlman
  • 1998 Floyd Ashcroft; Jim Blue; Bob Leingang; Leroy McCartney; Jack Ray; and Dee Webster
  • 1997 K. Otto Logan
Nominate Now


Each year, the advisors of Washington DECA nominate one of their peers who has gone above and beyond in supporting Washington DECA and preparing students for area, state, and international competition. The Advisor of the Year is selected based on their commitment to professionalism in managing their chapter, preparing members for competition, encouraging members to apply for scholarships, and for contributing to the greater good of Washington DECA by being involved in an advisor leadership role. Only DECA advisors may nominate a fellow advisor for this award.Nominate a DECA advisor for this year’s Advisor of the Year Award!


Bryan Venema, DECA advisor at John Rogers High School, was selected to receive the 2019-2020 Advisor of the Year award.  Bryan has served as an Event Manager at the State Career Development Conference for many years in the Quick Serve Restaurant event. He is a great guide for other advisors on how to coordinate a successful event.  Bryan has been a mentor to other DECA advisors as they navigate the Career and Technical Education classroom and serving as and advisor of a Career and Technical Student Organization like DECA.  Bryan has served on the Washington DECA board and was nominated by several peer advisors.  He is described as professional, passionate about serving students, especially as an advocate for equity and access for all students, and one you can really “pump up” the students to get them excited about DECA.  Washington DECA is honored to recognized Mr. Venema with this special recognition! 


  • 2019 Marc Hillestad, Cedarcrest High School
  • 2018 Brenda Grabski, Capital High School
  • 2017 Greg McCormick, Mark Morris High School
  • 2016 Tim Crawley, Highline High School
  • 2015 Ray McCabe, Hazen High School
  • 2014 BJ Sherman, Skyline High School
  • 2013 Stephanie Schirm, Richland High School
  • 2012 Paul Glenovich, Woodinville High School
  • 2011 Dennis Rockwood, Inglemoor High School
  • 2010 Sherry Busby, Camas High School
  • 2009 Lori Jacobs, Auburn High School
  • 2008 Heidi Wilson, Kamiakin High School
  • 2007 Mike Dwyer, Eisenhower High School
  • 2006 Dave Eby, Olympia High School
  • 2005 Ron Cooper, Bothell High School
  • 2004 Doug Aubert, Auburn Riverside High School
  • 2003 Lynn Carey, Clarkston High School
  • 2002 Karen Timken, Arlington High School; Laura Jones, Pasco High School; Jim Burton, Auburn High School; Yetta Rouse, Lindbergh High School; and Rick Davis, Kelso High School
Nominate Now


Students, please nominate someone from your chapter who has gone above and beyond to support your school, community, and DECA chapter. This is an individual who has personified the ideals of Washington DECA, and who has given their all to express those ideals. The Member of the Year will be recognized at the State Career Development Conference. Nominate our next Member of the Year!


Susheel Cheeti, Skyline High School

We are excited to recognize a member who has gone above and beyond this year. This individual has put forth great effort to encompass the core values of Washington DECA. Nominated for both their friendship and leadership abilities, he inspires others by acting as a servant leader. For the last two years, he has shown his leadership through his dedication. Each year, three days before the area conference and SCDC, he will sit in the library, offering his help to any DECA students he sees. On top of that, he makes visits to each business classroom, answering questions and giving his own personal advice on how to best compete in DECA events. On a larger scale, he hosts mock-DECA competitions, giving students real experience, and constructive yet personal feedback. This student is best described as the heart of his local chapter. Congratulations, 2019-2020 Member of the Year, Susheel Cheeti!

Past Members of the Year: 

  • 2019 Anthony Damitio, Archbishop Murphy High School
  • 2018 Mariah Alexander, Skyline High School
  • 2017 Xeindria Chandran, Cascade Sr. High School
Nominate Now


The Diamond Award recognizes an organization or individual who consistently provides time, talent and treasure in support of DECA’s mission and vision.


PEMCO Insurance

For nearly two decades, PEMCO employees have served on Washington DECA’s Board of Directors (John Okerman, Rod Brooks, Jim Menzies, and Nate Luce) and Business Leadership Council (John Osterberg and Allison Leep). PEMCO employees continue to serve as volunteer judges and workshop presenters, and the company provides valuable financial support, which benefits DECA advisors in the form of professional development, and access and opportunity to underserved youth across the state.

Washington DECA is pleased to recognize the 2019 Diamond Award recipient, PEMCO Insurance.


  • 2018 BECU
Nominate Now